top of page

Our Recent Posts

Tags

No tags yet.

Here, There and Everywhere

Wow, what a month it has been since my last blog post. I have been a lot of places!

First, I flew to Winnipeg for 4 days. I attended the Canadian Institute of Planners' National Conference, which was a fantastic experience. I met professionals from across the country and heard about many cool projects and ideas. Winnipeg is located in Treaty 1 territory and is the birthplace of the Metis Nation. It was very interesting to compare the first numbered Treaty to where I currently am located in Treaty 8.

I then headed back to Edmonton for 5 days and caught up with my fiancé, family and a few friends. It was a relaxing break and it was nice to see the city again.

I travelled back up to Beaver for the weekend, and then down to Cadotte Lake for the Treaty 8 gathering. It was a historic gathering of Treaty 8 peoples to discuss varying issues in their territory. Important topics included the Site C Dam, Social Work, Education, Health, Trapping and Hunting, Water, and the Environment. Sometimes, the topics wove together in a confusing and vexing way. It just demonstrates how wicked and interconnected treaty rights are. Respecting one right means you must respect the others- and to discuss one means to discuss many.

I also found a puppy in Cadotte and she has quickly become the only thing I think about. Her name is Honey- named because she looks like a honeybee and she is just so sweet.

Then, Laura and I decided I hadn't had enough of travelling and went up to Hay River NWT last weekend. It was absolutely beautiful- a hidden gem of Canada. We camped on the shores of Great Slave Lake and explored the town. Honey had a great time catching mice and bugs- not so much fun when it came to swimming. I'll try swimming with her again next summer.

Here is a map of all of my travels I have undertook the last month:

Approximately 5000 kilometers, two provinces, and one territory later, I am tired and I have a cold.

But- I have many new memories, stories, and friends; so it was definitely all worth it.


bottom of page