top of page

Our Recent Posts

Tags

No tags yet.

Moose Talk

Last week, I got to go out into the field with a few elders to do some GPSing and mapping of important sites. In order to do this, we used a recently acquired drone, and guess who knows who can fly it? (ME!)

We first started out by preparing to camp out at the first area. We really roughed it, as you can see.

Just kidding, the Chief brought his trailer and we had steak for dinner.

All night, the elders traded stories about different moose hunts. I've learned a bit about moose calling, moose skinning, moose drying, tracking moose, moose nose being delicious, stumbling upon moose in a bog, hauling moose out of the bush, getting lost while looking for moose, and much more moose talk. Needless to say, the elders were excited to see if there were any moose to hunt.

The area we were camping in was very beautiful too!

The next area we GPSed was Two Lakes, a traditional area for the Beavers and where Culture Camp takes place every year. This was my first time seeing the area and my skin had goosebumps when I was told stories and history of the sites. I'm not much for superstition, but I felt very spiritually fulfilled after the day was done.

I also picked wild mint for the first time. As we drove through the dried up lake bed a smell wafted up of mint so strong I wish this blog could portray it clearly. We stopped on our way back, offered Tobacco to Mother Earth, and picked enough for each of us to have a few pots of tea. The mint hasn't bloomed its blue flowers, which is when it is apparently the strongest! Laura and I have been having mint tea now for a few days. The Saskatoon berries are almost ready to pick too. In a few days I'm sure I'll be out picking berries and eating more than I gather.

It was such a lovely week of helping out the Band and learning new skills. I'm already passed the halfway mark of my stay here and I can't believe it! I want time to slow down.

bottom of page